Why I Disappeared in 2012

When I turned 27 I remember thinking to myself – “hmm, 27 – what an insignificant number… Nothing really big happens at that age”

My thinking at the time I believe was skewed as I had spent all of 2011 branding myself and my company. Within 9 months I had self published my first book and successfully created MFITNESS Bootcamp, an outdoor fitness bootcamp company that managed to be quite successful in it’s first year.

However, by November of 2011 I was completely burnt out. All of my boot camps were finished for the year and I had more than enough time on hands that I didn’t know what to do with. I noticed my level of passion and enthusiasm for fitness was at an all time low. I think I put so much into my business that I completely neglected myself and my motivation levels had now become almost non-existent.

I made one of the biggest mistakes when it comes to goal setting. I reached my goal and failed to set a new one. It’s like having a goal to lose 20 pounds, and then when you hit it you stop going to the gym. We’re all guilty of doing this and it becomes a vicious cycle.

Before Christmas that year, I had enough of feeling down. I wrote out some new goals and decided to set foot on a new path. I wanted my passion back and I needed a plan.

Goals for 2012:

1. Get my own butt back at the gym! ( I hadn’t worked out in a month!) I hired a personal trainer that I met on Twitter to make me monthly programs. Yes, even trainers need motivation sometimes too.

2. Learn French. It’s been on my list for 2 years – why wait!? I have the time.

3. Start to phase myself out from working in a club and work 100% for myself. Bootcamps, YouTube Videos, Writing, etc. Scary, but something I had wanted to do for a long time.

I found my focus again and was going to implement my plans for the new year…

Sometimes however, although we make plans in life – they can change in an instant.

Less than two weeks later my life did a complete 180.

Long story short: I moved, got promoted, became single for the first time in 5 years and my business came to a halt – all at the exact same time.

I guess 27 isn’t such an insignificant year… It all happened so fast that it was tough for me to even comprehend all of the unexpected changes.

The page of my life had just been turned and a new chapter had begun…

Hence – No more blog posts, No more social media… I just disappeared as I tried to create my new reality. Needless to say 27 was not insignificant and despite a rough beginning, it actually turned out to be the best year of my life thus far.

Did I reach my initial goals I set out for 2012? no.

I still don’t speak french, I work full time in management at my club now, yet I DO workout regularly – Only without the guidance of another trainer.

Chapter 28 has just begun and I am extremely excited to as to where it’s going to take me.

What we forget sometimes is that life throws us curve balls, but sometimes it’s exactly the throw you needed in order for you to hit a home run.

In 2012, despite myself falling short of my initial plans I ended up traveling to Italy and Greece, being chosen to go to Whistler for the lululemon ambassador summit, I became a writer for Montreal en Sante Magazine, I won an award from Notable.ca for being a leader in Sports and Fitness, I tried snowboarding, skate skiing, kayaking, softball and realized i’m actually not bad a sports, I met many new amazing friends, I successfully completed the Spartan Race, I became the strongest physically I have ever been, I ran a half marathon, and I really gave myself the time and energy to do all the things that I wanted to do.

I started crossing things off my “bucket list” and decided to really start living my life for me. Although my business is still important to me, I realized I cannot run a successful company without taking care of myself first.

I am once again ready and focused for the new year, although this time I am ready for anything to be thrown at me.

Be ready for 2013…. I am back with a vengeance and want to help as many people as I can succeed with their health and fitness goals. New videos, recipes and blog posts to come – Stay Tuned!

 

love micaela

-Kingston,ON Personal Trainer

Leave a Reply

