DIY Mocha Frappuccino Alpha Hydroxy Face Mask

I recently used a sample of Glam Glow and fell in love with it. BUT, when I went to Sephora to buy it, instantly, my jaw dropped to the floor when I saw the $80 price tag. I’ve been making my own homemade face masks since I was a teenager and they only cost me pennies to make so I just couldn’t justify the unsightly price tag no matter how much it could make my skin  actually glow.

Instead of spending $80 on that little magical skincare pot, I bought myself an actual Mocha Frappuccino from Starbucks instead (also insanely expensive) and came home and made myself one of my tried and true beauty masks that has always been one of my favorites.
I have oily/dry, sensitive, combination, 32 year old skin and it keeps my skin glowing in a much more affordable way.
My Mocha Frappuccino mask is one is my favorites because of the yogurt. Yogurt contains lactic acid, an alpha hydroxy acid which is a main ingredient in many skincare products. AHA provides gentle exfoliation which helps abolish my dead skin cells, helps my acne, and leaves my skin soft and moisturized.
Just grab a bowl, add in a couple of tsp of cocoa powder, a dollop of organic honey and plain yogurt and mix together to form a paste. I usually made enough for a few masks which I keep in a mason jar in the fridge so that when I apply it’s nice and cold. This mixture alone (without the espresso grinds) I use 2-3x a week and I leave on for about 20-30 minutes. I find that it also keeps my blackheads at bay, as when I go too long without using it, they seem to come back.
cfc_3585
The days in which I wake up with a puffy face however, I mix in my used coffee grinds from my morning coffee. The grinds are an excellent exfoliant AND the caffeine helps my face restore itself to not looking like a puffy blowfish! I use any of the remaining leftovers in the shower for a whole body scrub which smells delicious!
A note to the wise though – AHA can make your skin sensitive to the sun so always be sure to use an SPF when going outside.
Last note before you get to it, this is MESSY to rinse off, especially with the coffee grinds. If you don’t want to have to clean your bathroom sink or tub after this beauty regimen, I would suggest rinsing this off with a facecloth in your kitchen sink. Much easier to keep things clean this way.
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

